Meet our acclaimed jury!
  • Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimi
    President and Director of Sharjah Art Foundation
    Hoor Al Qasimi is a practising artist who received her BFA from the Slade School of Fine Art, London (2002), a Diploma in Painting from the Royal Academy of Arts, London (2005) and an MA in Curating Contemporary Art from the Royal College of Art, London (2008). In 2003, she was appointed curator of Sharjah Biennial 6 and has since continued as the Biennial Director.

    Al Qasimi serves on the Board of Directors for MoMA PS1, New York; KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; International Biennial Association, Gwangju; Ashkal Alwan, Beirut and Darat Al Funun, Amman. She is Chair of the Advisory Board for the College of Art and Design, University of Sharjah; member of the Advisory Board for Khoj International Artists' Association, New Delhi and former member of the Advisory Board at Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing (2013-2016). She has served on the juries and prize panels for the Maria Lassnig Prize (2017), Mediacity Seoul Prize (2016), Hepworth Wakefield Prize for Sculpture (2016), Prince Claus Awards (2016), Berlin International Film Festival – Berlinale Shorts (2016), Videobrasil (2015), Dubai International Film Festival (2014) and Benesse Prize (2013).

    Recent curatorial projects include major retrospectives Yayoi Kusama: Dot Obsessions(2016–2017), Robert Breer: Time Flies (2016–2017), Simone Fattal (2016) and Farideh Lashai(2016) as well as 1980–Today: Exhibitions in the United Arab Emirates, UAE Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale (2015); Rasheed Araeen: Before and After Minimalism (2014) and Susan Hefuna: Another Place (2014).

    Al Qasimi was co-curator for numerous others including Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige: Two Suns in a Sunset (2016),When Art Becomes Liberty: The Egyptian Surrealists (1938–1965) (2016) and The Khartoum School: The Making of the Modern Art Movement in Sudan (1945–Present) (2016–2017).
  • Ramesh Jagannathan
    Vice Provost for Innovation and Entrepreneurship and Managing Director of startAD, New York University Abu Dhabi
    Inaugural Vice Provost for Entrepreneurship at New York University Abu Dhabi responsible for establishing the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Managing Director of startAD, a major Innovation and Entrepreneurship platform with a vision to be the foremost enabler of entrepreneurship in the UAE.

    Appointed by the Abu Dhabi government to the panel of experts assembled to review and certify their 2030 policy on transition to a Knowledge Based Society. Appointed by the President of NYU Polytechnic to Chair the Task Force on Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship to create an executable plan for the 21st Century global engineering education.

    Entrepreneurial technologist with over 45 patents. Directed Open Innovation R&D programs at Kodak European Research Labs, in collaboration with several top tier universities and research centers from the US and Europe.

    Coached the NYUAD students' team in the Hult/Clinton Global Initiative Grand Challenge competition winning $333,000 for an NGO in Africa to implement their business model. President Clinton cited this accomplishment in his cover article in the Time magazine "The Case for Optimism -- From technology to equality, five ways the world is getting better all the time" as one of the five reasons.

    Received the Rhodes Trust Inspirational Educator Award (2017) and the UAE Entrepreneurial Ecosystem Development Award – Innovator of the Year (2017).

  • Kamal Aljafari
    Filmmaker & Visiting Associate Arts Professor of Film and New Media, New York University Abu Dhabi
    Kamal Aljafari is a film director and artist from Palestine. His filmography includes 'Recollection' (2015), 'Port of Memory' (2009) and 'The Roof' (2006).

    Jafari's films have been screened at numerous film festivals including Locarno, Torino, Rotterdam, Fidmarseille as well as museums including Tate Modern and MoMA in NYC. He was a featured artist at the 2009 Robert Flaherty Film Seminar in New York, and in 2009/2010 was the Benjamin White Whitney Fellow at Harvard University's Radcliffe Institute and Film Study Center.

    From 2011 to 2013 he was head of the directing program for the German Film and Television Academy (DFFB) in Berlin. In 2016 he was a jury member in the Torino Film Festival and showcases of his work took place at Lussas Film Festival in France and at the Cinémathèque Québécoise in Montreal.
  • Khansa Al Blouki
    Acting Director of Environmental Outreach
    at the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi (EAD)
    Khansa Al Blouki is aiming to cultivate habits of a sustainable environmental practice among diverse communities. Prior to this position, she was the Manager for Environmentally Sustainable Communities & Living Section heading
    the team and actively developing programmes relevant to UAE targeting the community at
    large, striving towards a sustainable community.

    She has been associated with the organisation for nearly 12 years, working in the Public
    Relation and Communications Dept and as an Assistant Manager for the Environmental Campaigns Department. She graduated from the Zayed University with a Bachelor's degree in Social and Behaviour Science, categorized under the Dean's List for her exemplary performance. The Leadership Excellence Applied Diploma (LEAD) by Cambridge University's Judge Business School in 2012.

    She led the famous "TURN IT OFF" campaign initiated by EAD in 2010 in Abu Dhabi and
    was a big success in enhancing awareness on the different aspects of sustainability. She
    led the "Vote for Bu Tinah" Campaign in 2011, a nationwide campaign to champion local
    biodiversity protection and raise the UAE's environmental profile on the international stage.

    Bu Tinah was voted into the top 14 from an original list of 447 natural sites around the
    world. Ms. Blouki managed the EAD Annual Environmental Awareness & Behaviour Survey in 2012 – 2013. She with her team established EAD's first volunteering platform called "Environmental Ambassadors".

    She is passionate about literature, fictions , poetry and classic music.
Scientific Merit Award (500 USD)

The Scientific Merit Award is granted to the film that best exemplifies science in narrative filmmaking in a compelling, credible, and inspiring manner.

WINNER: That Lovely Life by Rami Aloui
RUNNER-UP: Mars Society by Giulia Grossmann

The Scientist Award (500 USD)

Films made by and about scientists are eligible. The goal of this award is to encourage more scientists to create films that let audiences into their minds, labs, and lifestyle.

WINNER: The Breeder by Demelza Kooij
RUNNER-UP: Tabiib by Jim Savio

Visual Science Award (500 USD)

The Visual Science Award is given to the film that best depicts science in a visually­ engaging manner.

WINNER: Nex by Michael Loithaler, Marlene Raml, & Philipp Buschauer
RUNNER-UP: Pink by Mahboobeh Mohammadzaki

Audience Choice Award

The Audience Choice Award is given to the film that receives the best score through audience ballots.

WINNER: Tabiib by Jim Savio
RUNNER-UP: Ranapakhara by Swapna Kurup
Made on